Thanksgiving Shopping

leeannrubsam.com

Today I must do the annual Thanksgiving Day grocery shopping.  I am not fond of shopping in any form, nor am I fond of cooking turkey and all the fixings.  I am a mac-and-cheese kind of cook, so Thanksgiving, the annual obligatory family dinner necessary to appease my mother, is not nearly as much fun as going to the dentist.  More on the cooking part next time.

My husband likes shopping in all its forms, so he takes care of the groceries the other fifty-one weeks of the year.  But shopping the food sales for Thanksgiving takes a special finesse that he does not possess.  I have an ability to get deals beyond our wildest imaginations.  Grocery store robbery is one of the few areas of life in which I excel.

In years gone by, I practiced my art on a weekly basis, even looking forward to the adventure of the excursion.  I was the customer the grocery clerks loved to hate.  I got frowns when they saw me coming, which deeply hurt my sensitive feelings, but not enough to make me change my ways.  It had a lot to do with combining sale items with double couponing and leaving the store with arms loaded down with multiple bags and a total bill of $4.63.  When my favorite place went out of business, I vowed to go straight and never ruin a grocery store again, but the temptation proved too much for me, so my husband took over the shopping.

Thanksgiving, though, is different.   The stores are all begging to be plundered for that event, so I oblige them to keep them happy.  Alas, I can no longer get away with a cartful for $4.63, but I might find a way to abscond with a turkey for that, along with a $1.00 apple pie and a free tub of Cool Whip.

leeannrubsam.com

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://leeannrubsam.wordpress.com/2008/11/19/thanksgiving-shopping/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

