Where Life’s At

leeannrubsam.com

I have been one busy little person lately, and haven’t blogged much as a consequence.  I hope to get back to writing my favorite wacky stuff soon, but just haven’t had the time or the inclination.  (Besides, the retired mailman and the teenage princess haven’t been doing anything outlandish enough to tattle about in the last few weeks.)

For those of you who don’t know, I am an author and publisher.  We publish Christian prayer and character building materials, some of which cater to the home school community.  At this time of year, I am up to my earlobes in book-packing for my wholesale customers.

Although I work pretty hard and get a little tired, at least I get to stay home.  The folks who buy wholesale from us are out on the road, traveling with their vans full of kids from one home school convention to the next, trying to make a living.  They travel all week, and then spend Fridays and Saturdays giving speeches, doing workshops, and, most importantly, selling books.  Some of them travel the entire length of the country and do not get home for months at a time. 

I would not want their lifestyle for the world, but I guess they enjoy it.  I’m happy to take their orders, ship their boxes of books to wherever they hope to show up next, and relax in the recliner with a heating pad on my sore back at the end of the day.  They are all surprised that I do not want to do the circuit with them, and they tell me I am missing a lot of fun and fellowship, but it’s just not me.  I would rather spend my time in prayer and with Beebee and Paul, and I certainly would not want to miss being with our beloved church family on the weekends.

I’ve been spending a lot of time writing stuff for this magazine, that newsletter, and the other anthology.  Being a freelancer is fairly new for me, and I’m still learning the ropes.  I’m finding out which writing things are time-wasters (writers’ forums where people socialize over their desire to write the next best-selling murder mystery fit this category) and which might be worthwhile (paying articles and ministry writing fit here), and I’m improving my writing skills in the process (I hope).  I’m also discovering I can crank out stuff on a wide variety of subjects, if need be.  I love the funny stuff, but I can do the heart-warming reminiscence of Grandpa or the totally serious informational report on something boring, when required. 

I even waxed imaginative a while back and did a fiction piece about an environmental cop.  A problem developed, though.  It was for a writing contest sponsored by some folks who are really, really, really serious about living the green lifestyle, and my quirky sense of humor refused to be denied, and it ended up being a spoof on environmentalism.  Realizing I would be making a total idiot out of myself if I submitted it, and not being fond of doing that unintentionally, I decided it was best to sit on it until I find a market where

a.) the editor hates the green movement and wants to take a few pokes at it,
b.) the editor is green to the gills, but doesn’t mind laughing at himself and his royal environmentalness, or
c.) the editor doesn’t care whether he is green, brown, blue, or purple, just as long as he can laugh ’til his sides ache.

So that’s how it’s been lately.

leeannrubsam.com

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://leeannrubsam.wordpress.com/2008/04/17/where-lifes-at/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

